Simon Wiesenthal Award

In 2021 the National Fund of the Republic of Austria for Victims of National Socialism will, for the first time, confer the Simon Wiesenthal Award for outstanding civic engagement to combat anti-Semitism and promote Holocaust education.

The mandate to confer the award was granted in 2020 by an amendment to the National Fund Law, Federal Law Gazette I No. 94/2020.

In future, the Simon Wiesenthal Award will be conferred once a year. For this purpose, the Federal Government will provide an annual sum of 30,000 euros as prize money.

The Simon Wiesenthal Award may be conferred upon up to three persons or groups that have been nominated by a jury and selected by the Board of Trustees of the National Fund.

The Simon Wiesenthal Award Jury

The Simon Wiesenthal Award will be conferred by a jury comprising a chairman and five other members.

The members of the jury shall be:

  • The President of the Jewish Religious Community in Austria;
  • Recognized personages of public or cultural life in Austria or abroad or
  • Persons with an academic reputation in the field of contemporary history or another relevant academic discipline.
  • One of the members should be a direct descendent of the award’s namesake Simon Wiesenthal.

The members of the Simon Wiesenthal Award jury are to be appointed by the Board of Trustees of the National Fund for the duration of a legislative period.

The Board of Trustees may adopt Rules of Procedure containing more detailed regulations for the Simon Wiesenthal Award jury.

The award's namesake, Simon Wiesenthal.
Photo: Rob Bogaerts / Anefo / Nationaal Archief CC-BY 3.0

Announcement and applications

The Simon Wiesenthal Award will be announced on the National Fund website for a period of at least four weeks.

At the end of the submission period, the Simon Wiesenthal Award jury will evaluate the applications within four weeks and nominate up to five candidates for the Award. It will provide reasons for its nominations in writing to the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees will select the recipients of the Award on the basis of the Simon Wiesenthal Award jury’s nominations.

The Simon Wiesenthal Award is endowed with 30,000 euros per year, of which 15,000 euros are allocated to the overall winner and 7,500 euros to each of the other recipients.

The Simon Wiesenthal Award and certificates shall be presented to the winners at a ceremony in Parliament.

Current status

Preparatory work is currently underway (such as the selection and constitution of the Simon Wiesenthal Award jury and the creation of Rules of Procedure). It will form the basis for the announcement of the submission period and conferral of the Simon Wiesenthal Award.

It is not yet possible to apply at this stage.

You can keep up to date with the current status on this website.

If you are interested in the Simon Wiesenthal Award, you can contact us by e-mail at .

The legal regulations can be found in detail in Federal Law Gazette I No. 94/2020.