Auschwitz

In addition to the permanent exhibition on the history of the concentration and extermination camp Auschwitz-Birkenau, the so-called national exhibitions tell the stories of the citizens of the countries from where people were deported to the complex of camps at Auschwitz. These also include the Austrian national exhibition, which was displayed in Block 17 and opened to the public on 19 March 1978. It has remained unchanged since this time.

In July 2009, in a move to implement Item 17 "Responsibility towards the victims of National Socialism" of the chapter "Art and Culture" of its governmental program, the Austrian Federal Government resolved to renew the "Austrian memorial" at the former concentration and extermination camp and present-day State Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau in Poland. It entrusted the National Fund with the planning and implementation of the entire project.

The new Austrian exhibition in Block 17 of the State Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau bears the title "Far removed. Austria in Auschwitz". The notion "far removed" refers to the geographical distance between Austria and Auschwitz, which was part of the Nazi strategy to conceal the mass murder. At the same time, removal meant extermination: the physical removal of the deportees, from Austria and from the realm of the living.

Auschwitz

Neben der ständigen Ausstellung zur Geschichte des Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslagers Auschwitz-Birkenau erzählen die so genannten Länderausstellungen das Schicksal der Bevölkerung jener Länder, aus denen Menschen in den Lagerkomplex Auschwitz deportiert wurden. Zu diesen Länderausstellungen zählte auch jene der Republik Österreich, die im Block 17 der Gedenkstätte errichtet und am 19. März 1978 eröffnet wurde. Diese wurde zeit ihres Bestehens nicht verändert.

Im Juli 2009 beschloss die österreichische Bundesregierung in Umsetzung ihres Regierungsprogramms, Kapitel "Kunst und Kultur", Punkt 17, "Verantwortung gegenüber den Opfern des Nationalsozialismus", die Neugestaltung der "österreichischen Gedenkstätte" im ehemaligen Konzentrations- und Vernichtungslager und jetzigen Staatlichen Museum Auschwitz-Birkenau in Polen. Sie beauftragte den Nationalfonds mit der Koordinierung der Planung und Abwicklung des Gesamtprojekts.

Die neue österreichische Ausstellung im Block 17 des Staatlichen Museums Auschwitz-Birkenau steht unter dem Titel "Entfernung. Österreich in Auschwitz". Der Begriff "Entfernung" verweist auf die geografische Distanz zwischen Österreich und Auschwitz, die Teil der nationalsozialistischen Verleugnungsstrategie des Massenmordes war. Zugleich meint Entfernung auch Vernichtung: die physische Entfernung der nach Auschwitz Deportierten, aus Österreich und aus dem Leben.